Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

run-in engine on a pipe?

Reply

Old 11-23-2008, 01:11 PM
  #1  
vasek
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default run-in engine on a pipe?

If a ABC engine will be running on a pipe, should it be ran-in also on the pipe or should one use regular muffler first?
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 01:28 PM
  #2  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,788
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: run-in engine on a pipe?

Hi!
Doesn't matter how you do as long as you run the engine a little rich. Simple as that!
jaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 01:33 PM
  #3  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: run-in engine on a pipe?

Run it with castor oil in the fuel and a smaller than usual prop, then let it run fast as you monitor the exhaust spray and engine temperature. 1 minute or 2 minute short runs followed with checking the glow plug and bolt tightnesses between runs. When the exhaust residue is clear and the needle is steady, the engine is ready.
I usually use 25% oil for the initial break in.
Run it WOT only at a slightly rich scream. Do not play with part throttle setting until after the engine is broken in.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:38 PM
  #4  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: run-in engine on a pipe?

when i run in engines with a pipe i run them with the smaller prop very rich at the rpm i plane to run the larger prop at on the ground.

Clear oil is good and rich. once the engine is broke in and if you still have clear oil then you can increase compression or nitro. medium dark brown oil is best
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:55 AM
  #5  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: run-in engine on a pipe?

You can run-in the engine on the pipe, as others noted.

Key is getting the engine up to operating temp, up to desired rpm (pipe rpm), and allowing it to run just slightly rich/cooler at that desired rpm.

The difficulty with this.is sometimes ...
You would want to have the pipe set up and know approximately what RPM your target is.

Generally not a problem. Starting with the pipe set a bit long is best. Get some time on the engine, prop for your target rpm (will likely get there with a light prop even if the pipe setup is little long). This will give you a broader needle valve range and that helps out a bit.
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 11:18 AM
  #6  
vasek
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: run-in engine on a pipe?

Thanks for the help guys
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service