Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

egine for sig wonder

Reply

Old 12-10-2008, 06:12 PM
  #1  
joeman784
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairview, PA
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default egine for sig wonder

i dont no what engine to put on a sig wonder im building... help me
joeman784 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:27 PM
  #2  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

ORIGINAL: joeman784

I don't know what engine to put on a SIG wonder I'm building... help me
Well what do you have???

OS.10FP OS.15FP OS.15LA will keep it light great for "low and slow" flying.

OS .20FP and .25FP will get a little more zip.

OS .15CV performs well

OS .25FX whips around the patch very well.

OS .32SX for going nuts

Jett .30 FIRE for going ballistic!

Yep, I even kit bashed a Woner into a twin. Two O.S. .15 FP
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf99018.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	1087328   Click image for larger version

Name:	Aw70659.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	96.8 KB
ID:	1087329  
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:35 PM
  #3  
joeman784
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairview, PA
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

all i have at the moment is a thunder tiger .15gp
joeman784 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:51 PM
  #4  
aussiesteve
Senior Member
 
aussiesteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PerthWA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,924
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

There are such a wide range to choose from - what choices do you have in a 0.15 to 0.25 glow?

I've had everything from OS 0.15 to OS 0.25fx in them - the 25fx was alittle heavy but ballistic
aussiesteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 07:02 PM
  #5  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder


ORIGINAL: joeman784

all i have at the moment is a thunder tiger .15gp

It will fly well, simliar in power and weight to the OS .15FP

servos: I used:a Hitec: HS425BB for the ailerons HS-81 throttle HS-85MG elevator.

I alter the build of the kit, to bolt the stab down to the fuse not glue it and eliminate the servo access hatch.

I put both elevator and throttle servos aft of F-4. under the stab. a longer throttle cable will be needed.

a 4 oz. slant nose Sullivan fuel tank will fit and you can fly a long time on it with your TT .15gp
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 08:13 PM
  #6  
joeman784
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairview, PA
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

k so should fly around 50 60mph
joeman784 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 08:16 PM
  #7  
seanucd2000
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

I have one with a 15 LA that does about 85 (edit: from a radar gun). It's a blast to fly, and probably the most fun one could have with three ounces of glow fuel.

Also have another one nearly finished with a 25FX, but it's been hanging on the wall waiting for me to finish for a while now.

seanucd2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 08:30 PM
  #8  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder


ORIGINAL: joeman784

k so should fly around 50 60mph

60-70 + but it small size makes it look faster, it will be very agile too.
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 08:40 PM
  #9  
iflyg450
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: townsend, GA
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

I used an OS 25VF-DF Great combo
iflyg450 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 08:44 PM
  #10  
joeman784
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairview, PA
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

what about an os 25 fp
joeman784 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:29 PM
  #11  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder


ORIGINAL: joeman784

what about an os 25 fp

better than the .15

but if you have a .40 FP carb it fits the .25, install it! the 40's carb has a larger bore, also remove the baffle from the muffler
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 09:46 AM
  #12  
06sportster
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
06sportster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

I am still covering my Wonder, I bought a new OS 15CV-A for mine. It is going to be a lot of fun once I am done!
06sportster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 11:48 AM
  #13  
MJD
My Feedback: (1)
 
MJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8,629
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

Your .15 is just fine and it will fly well. If you want to put more horsepower on it later, then go for it! But for now why not just use the GP? If you're gonna buy a motor for more get up and go, well then, .25 and up IMHO.

My two bits.

MJD
MJD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 04:42 PM
  #14  
joeman784
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairview, PA
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

im stuck on step 5 what peice of wood do i put down... so confusing
joeman784 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:28 PM
  #15  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

step 5 ??? cant find my old assembly manual


but take a moment and find the TE trailing edge stock...then scan forward thru the manual and they tell you cut, notch, out some of the TE between the cap strips for the torque rods.

Well look at the plans and your stock and cut 2 notches that will be the clearance for the torque rods. No carving later!
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:25 PM
  #16  
rtn9105
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

Can anyone give the CG location and control throws for the Wonder?

Thanks
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 04:04 PM
  #17  
Flyboy76
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Flyboy76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Go Riders Go!!!!!!!, CANADA
Posts: 642
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

I watched a gentleman fly one last spring at a funfly. It hat the OS32 in it. Did that thing RIP!!!! Wicked fast so agile and would glide and glide and glide.

That is what i would put in it if i had one.

Geoff
Flyboy76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 04:11 PM
  #18  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder


ORIGINAL: rtn9105

Can anyone give the CG location and control throws for the Wonder?

Thanks

cant find my book off the top of me head:

CG 2 3/8" back on the main spar to 1/4 " forward
ailerons +/- 1/4" low rate +/- 3/8 high rate
elevator +/- 5/16" low rate +/- 7/16 high rate
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 04:17 PM
  #19  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

– If you need more information, use these Sig resources –
E-mail: mail@sigmfg.com
Web Site: http://www.sigmfg.com/
Phone: 800-247-5008
Postal Address:
Sig
401-7 SOUTH FRONT STREET
PO BOX 520 #10682
MONTEZUMA, IA 50171
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 07:14 PM
  #20  
rtn9105
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

Thanks for the info. I checked the Sig web site but they don't offer the manual online. I also tried to call them but I got a machine saying they were unavailable.
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 06:42 PM
  #21  
Erik van Schaik
Member
 
Erik van Schaik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oss, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 60
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: egine for sig wonder

CG 2-5/16" and 2-7/16"
No high rates printed in the manual.

good luck,

Erik
Erik van Schaik is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service