Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

First Delta WIng

Reply

Old 06-19-2003, 06:39 PM
  #1  
happyal
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
happyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Isle of Man, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 314
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default First Delta WIng

Hi Guys,

Just got my first delta wing, and it looks like I'm going to have a blast!! I've not been flying that long but I'm getting better all the time and speed planes is the thing that I'm interested in.

I was hoping that somebody could give me a little bit of advice about these things. I've set the mix on my control so that it controls both elevator and ailerons, my question is; the elevator movement is alot less then the aileron movement, is this correct?

Also the trim are set the same to eye sight, but when I move, for example up on the stick the right servo seems to have more travel, is this a sign of a faulty servo controlling the left, or is it a design flaw?

Last thing, It is quite a small model, about 1m wingspan, with a 40 sized engine (MDS, but I've got a Rossi 40 which I'm thinking about installing), will I be able to hand launch this model, or do I use a dolly to lunch it?

Thank you for any advice that you can give me.
happyal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 12:09 AM
  #2  
BAGOSTIX
Senior Member
My Feedback: (178)
 
BAGOSTIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 653
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default delta

What Delta do you have?
BAGOSTIX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 10:24 AM
  #3  
happyal
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
happyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Isle of Man, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 314
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default First Delta WIng

Hi,

It's a Exocet Delta Wing, it looks like a Jet model, quite similar to the Ripmax Delta wing, but with a more built up body.

It looks like it's going to be great fun.
happyal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2003, 10:19 AM
  #4  
WerHop
Senior Member
 
WerHop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Somerset West, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default First Delta WIng

do you have some pic for us

werner
WerHop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 06:51 AM
  #5  
Stuntpiloot
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eersel, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default First Delta WIng

More info would be nice......
Not all delta's are fast I've flown a Baracuda, also 1m wingspan with a .40 but the speed was not very high due to a thick airfoil (apx 6cm (= 2.4")

But normally the hand launch should not be the problem with a .40
Stuntpiloot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 08:13 AM
  #6  
WerHop
Senior Member
 
WerHop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Somerset West, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default First Delta WIng

does anyone know what the thickness of a really fast delta are normally like?
WerHop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 06:34 PM
  #7  
happyal
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
happyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Isle of Man, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 314
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default First Delta WIng

Hi Guys,

I'll try to get some pic's of the model as soon as I get my digital camera back (Father borrowed it). I flew the Delta wing for the first time on the weekend. And I can say that it's hard to fly as it is setup at the moment. I'm going to get some help getting it setup correctly then I'll give it another go.

It's very fast (for me) it's not going to be as fast as something like a whiplash but since it's my first speed model and I've not been flying for that long, it's going to be great for me before I move onto faster and faster planes. It's got about a 2.5-3cm thick wing.

Keep an eye out to see if I can get some pics up here.

See you all soon guys.
happyal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 09:07 PM
  #8  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default First Delta WIng

Can't you limit the throws for every channel seperately on your transmitter?

I run into this kind of stuff regularly, when using a servo on each elevator half on a plane for instance... I just adjust the maximum throw of each servo seperately...

If you don't adjust this you will have your plane rolling out of loopings, or into or out of turns and stuff like that... not very pleasant to fly...

Both your ailerons not having exactly the same throw is much less of a problem...
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service