Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Ninja

Reply

Old 07-08-2003, 06:10 AM
  #1  
Stuntpiloot
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eersel, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

Hi the plane on the picture is a Ninja.
After 5 years of rest it's time to shake this plane awake with the power of my new MVVS 6,5 GRRT.

The plane is 1m40 wingspan. I'll use it to run in and tune my engine until my Vmax is build (see preveous postings)

What do you guys think of it?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	92277_37667.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	53164  
Stuntpiloot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 01:05 PM
  #2  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

That's not the GRRT in the pic, is it? Old pic?

Looks like an old....hard to tell... is that an OPS or something? Or a Webra maybe?

If the wing is thin enough and strong enough to keep up with the GRRT power that thing should rip...
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 01:48 PM
  #3  
Stuntpiloot
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eersel, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

Yep you're right, thats a webra .40 on an old pic.
(Gee, you guys have eagle vision)

Yesterday, I got the plane off the attic, and now I'll put all the RC gear back in, and I hope to fly it in a couple of weeks.

The wing is apx 3-4cm thick, and is made of foam, and steady as a rock
Stuntpiloot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 03:53 PM
  #4  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Stuntpiloot....

....totally cool, man.....nice plane....solid design.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 10:15 AM
  #5  
Stuntpiloot
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eersel, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

Hmm, I come up with a question.....

What is the best way to shut the engine down (since it has no carb)
Remove the airobatic tank, and replace it with another so that inverted flight will shut the engine, or is the use of an servo for fuel line closure better?

What do you guys use with a ventury?
Stuntpiloot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:28 AM
  #6  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

Flying inverted to shut the engine down can be a bit of a problem sometimes, although it works ok when the system is laid out correctly. Also, if you have to shut down when the tank is still full for one reason or another... you will find that very difficult...
And the response time isn't the best either.

Servo operated fuel shut off valves can be mounted close to the engine, so the response time is much better, and they always work.
Also with the shut off valve you can use a bladder tank, which I highly recommend on these engines. These engines produce high frequency vibes, and fuel foaming will be your share. A bladder tank will avoid this.
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 10:29 PM
  #7  
ajcoholic
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Timmins, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

fastest way to kill an engine is flood off, just talk to someone into free flight

If you are using pressure its just as easy to rig up.

AJC
ajcoholic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 01:13 AM
  #8  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

You could also run a looped wire from a servo that will pull the fuel line into a tube and pinch it off. This will kill it.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 09:50 AM
  #9  
Stuntpiloot
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eersel, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

Hey that looped wire thing sounds very easy to build..... I'll try it when I build in the motor next week.
Stuntpiloot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 11:47 AM
  #10  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

I use the tube from an ole' bic Pen and cut off about 1" in length. Drill a hole in the firewall the size of the pen and glue the tube into the firewall with about 1/8" sticking out the front.

Run your looped wire through this to a servo with an EZ connector. Thread the fuel line through the loop, and set your throws on the servo (a computer radio makes this very easy) so that at full throttle the loop just sticks out the tube, and when you pull it back, it pulls the line into the tube and pinches it off.

Only thing to be carefull of, is before you shut the plane off, make sure you open the throttle releasing the fuel line from the tube. If you forget, you will have a hard time refueling.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 12:03 PM
  #11  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Shut Off

Heres a picture of My Dago Red set up with the shutoff like I described. I had to take the muffler off to see the shutoff.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	93749_310.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	53165  
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 04:11 PM
  #12  
BAD ANDY
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: clayton, NC
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja??

Is this palne the Sig Ninja sailplane converted to glow? If so great idea. That is one of the more fun style sailplanes out there and is fully aerobatic. I may go ahead and order another one just to try it out.... BAD ANDY
BAD ANDY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 06:02 AM
  #13  
Stuntpiloot
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eersel, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

Nope it's another plane build from an FMT plan.

you can get it at http://www.vth.de in the online shop
Stuntpiloot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 06:06 AM
  #14  
Stuntpiloot
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Eersel, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ninja

The precies location is Here

The plan costs 9 Euro
Stuntpiloot is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service