Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

My first time flying a Diamond Dust

Reply

Old 07-18-2003, 06:23 PM
  #1  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

Well, the fastest thing I've ever flown was a UT muff .46 powered Scat Cat 500. The DD made the Scat look like it was standing still. It had a OS 36 SX with the Mac's pipe turning some serious R's.

Fired it up and put it on the launch stand. Ran engine up and stand broke on launch.... 40 squirrelly feet and I cartwheeled into the high grass. Didn't even break a prop!!! At that point I was a little nervous, but WOW-OOPS (the planes owner) told me to try again. Back on the stand and run up. Stand worked fine and a harry launch was successful. In the air - MAN THIS THING IS FAST!!! Clocked at 118 into the wind at a fun fly, so I was going about 130, and it didn't care if it was straight up or not. What a screamer. A few clicks of up trim and 1 click of left and it was flying pretty straight (you can never say a plane like this will fly "hands off"). In for landing and it slowed down pretty good. I noticed I was pretty tense flying it, but it was a great time. Nice pane and definitely satisfies the need for speed.

Jeff A
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 09:00 PM
  #2  
packe29
Junior Member
My Feedback: (122)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

What dos your launch stand look like? I am having a hard tine getting my buddys to launch my DD. Thanks Chuck
packe29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 09:22 PM
  #3  
FlooredCOBRA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 1,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

Thats one thing about the Dust I like, It can slow down pretty slow.
My first one I had an OS 46 FX on it and it was loads of fun even putting around it still was stable. It also lands so easy too with nose up just floats on in.


As for launching it should just yank out of your hand. Also tell them not to shove it or give it a push when they launch it. I found it causes it to go a bit squirrly and takes more time to recover.

Just aim up a little and to right and nail it, let go and it just yank right out of your hand. These things jump up in speed pretty quick as it is.
FlooredCOBRA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 12:42 PM
  #4  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

The launch stand is pretty cool. It is PVC pipe and holds the plane at about a 30 degree nose high angle. There's two posts in the back that are pretty far apart that keep the plane from falling on the ground. In the front there's two posts closer together that keep the plane from going forward on runup. Then there's a foot pedal that you press to lower the front posts and the plane takes off.

The stand was made by RCU username WOW-OOPS. Search through the users and send him a PM. I'm sure he'd help. Tell him Jeff (Goinstraightup) told you about it.

Jeff A
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2003, 05:14 PM
  #5  
WOW-OOPS
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mauston, WI
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

Chuck

Hand launching the DD works very good, but someone has to help and you need to hold the DD to start and adjust the engine.

My DD launcher is used for starting and adjusting the engine. When the engine is running full blast a foot pedal is depressed and the plane shoots off. It is easy to make out of 1/2" PVC tubing. Easy to modify and it disassembles for easy transporting.

Gene
WOW-OOPS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2003, 05:35 PM
  #6  
WOW-OOPS
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mauston, WI
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

Chuck

Trying to enter a picture.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	95221_4813.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	24.9 KB
ID:	54448  
WOW-OOPS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2003, 10:25 PM
  #7  
mumblety-peg
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

Folks here on the board are claiming to launch this plane by themselves. I guess it depends on the engine. I've got a Webra 53 on mine. After it's fully broken in I think I'll be able to launch alone. But I really like the idea of a launcher.
mumblety-peg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 12:06 PM
  #8  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

Here's a closeup of Gene's (WOW-OOPS) DD:
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	95416_21443.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	54449  
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2003, 12:07 PM
  #9  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

I didn't notice until the other night, I have a side view of the stand:
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	95417_21443.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	54450  
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 01:59 AM
  #10  
FlooredCOBRA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 1,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

on that last pic of the yellow plane. what engine prop size you running? The prop looks huge compared to mine. Kind of looks like a fx or somthing.

Looks like it would launch like it was in a hurry
FlooredCOBRA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 11:23 AM
  #11  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

FlooredCOBRA,

The engine is an OS 36SX with the MACS pipe. I didn't find out the prop size.

Jeff A
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 06:38 PM
  #12  
wilkigmc
Senior Member
 
wilkigmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Guernsey, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My first time flying a Diamond Dust

A friend of mine has a Diamond Dust with a Jettfire 50 engine. He won't fly it because it's so quick, so I fly it instead. IT has a 9x9 APC prop, turning (at a gues) 20,000 rpm running on Coolpower fuel. I recently flew it with a couple of Weston Magnums, doing opposing passes at eye level over the runway. After 3 laps, I had caught them up and overtaken them.

I like the idea of the launch stand. That must make it a lot easier!!
wilkigmc is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service