RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Extreme Speed Prop Planes (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/extreme-speed-prop-planes-104/)
-   -   How fast do you think it goes? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/extreme-speed-prop-planes-104/1149120-how-fast-do-you-think-goes.html)

schmleff 09-19-2003 11:31 PM

How fast do you think it goes?

1 Attachment(s)
I have been flying this design for a few years. Here are the specs and picts. It was not really built for speed alone, but high speed radical control throw aerobatics.

How fast do you think it might be?

Span: 44"
Chord: 10"
Length" 41"
Weight: 5.25 lbs.

Power: OS FX .46
Prop: APC 9x7
RPM static: 15880
Speed: ???
Climb: almost unlimited.

ChuckAuger 09-20-2003 12:22 AM

RE: How fast do you think it goes?

I'd say about 90 mph.

LGM Graphix 09-20-2003 12:43 AM

chuck would be my middle ground, I figured 80 to 100mph.

schmleff 09-20-2003 08:42 AM

I am going to have to mount my gps in the turtle deck and check it out. I have always thought it would do about 100-110 straight and level and about 130+ in a dive.

The only reference I have for speed is the last time I strapped my gps to a supersportster bipe and recorded speeds over 100mph.

daven 09-20-2003 06:21 PM

Its the weight thats hurting you, but I would still think you could hit 100 mph with it, and possibly 110.

Windwalker 09-20-2003 08:32 PM

Nice design-What is it?
Have you thought about sweeping the wing rearward to increase speed or looks?

schmleff 09-20-2003 10:17 PM

It is just my creation. It was an experiment really. The second of its type. The first was built out of junk that was given to me or I scraped out of the field dumpster. This one was built from scratch. I just call it the "Frankenplane"

The goals were as follows:
fast
land slow
be very tough (able to withstand mishaps)
be able to use full control throws at maximum speed
try to see how wide of a speed range I could make it operate in