Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

46" Sea Queen needs running gear help!

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

46" Sea Queen needs running gear help!

Old 10-05-2010, 10:32 AM
woody_294

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 46" Sea Queen needs running gear help!

Formerly, Help for a Newbie! Electric non-racer.

My dad has a half finished boat that he'd really like to get working as something for him to do. It's about 3' long made of wood, and the hull and the deck is all done minus some superficial things he wants to do. It does need painting though, so anyone got pointers on that?

He's asked me to sort out all the motors and controls for it as I'm an electrical engineer (dad's a mechanical engineer ), it's going to be electric because I reckon that'll be the easiest one to maintain/install.

Plans!

The plan is to have 2 motors with props and a rudder per motor. From what I understand I'm going to need 2 direct drive motors for the props, not sure on which ones yet, with an ESC, batteries and an RC interface of some kind. is the only sensible way to control these individually? Because if that's the case then i suppose I'd need 3 channels to have the rudders too, and control may be confusing.

I'd planned to control the rudders together, mechanically ganged, with a single servo which would be controlled by the left/right joystick on the controller. Obviously this will be a problem if I have the motors controlled individually because then I'd be using a twin up/down controller.

Sorry for what is probably some terrible terminology, RC wise and boat wise! This is all new to me, I've only had experience with my Nitro car before.

*Edit* Can it have reverse too???
Old 10-05-2010, 10:49 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: 46" Sea Queen needs running gear help!

OK, I'm certainly no genius when it comes to electric boats but I'll take a stab.