Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Downwind turn Myth

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Downwind turn Myth

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2010, 11:22 PM
MORCER
My Feedback: (25)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Downwind turn Myth

I am a private pilot and this is a extremely simplistic explanation. As far as the wing is concerned indicated air speed is all that matters. I have infact flew a cessna 150 backward in a extreme head wind. An abrupt change in wind direction is called wind shear(not a myth) and not a happy situation when on final at low altitude(I also did this) it took a lot of effort to pop the vacuum I pulled on the wedgee created. The loss of lift created by a large change of wind direction is a myth only it you have infinate power which can overcome it imediatly as described by the author. you can only really appreciate wind shear if you have experienced it.
Old 11-25-2010, 11:24 PM
cfircav8r
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I taught myself to fly model gliders on the slopes of SoCal long before I ever got my pilots license. Perhaps that is why I had no trouble coming to grips with wind.
Old 11-25-2010, 11:26 PM
Tall Paul

ORIGINAL: Captainbob