Notices
Cars & Trucks - Full Scale Discuss full scale cars & trucks here

Give me some advice for new car

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2008, 08:38 PM
gc1288

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Give me some advice for new car

Hey guys! First, I will like to describe my situation at this moment. I am an undergraduate majoring in Mechanical Engineering. When I graduate, I will like to go to graduate school and obtain a career in the automotive industry. I love cars, but I never had the life of being able to build a project car with my dad. Thats not the type of family I have. Also, I live in New York.

I have been loving cars ever since I laid my eyes on a Toyota supra when I was 9 years ago. I want to buy a car so that I can work on it (make it perform better and faster, put aftermarket engine parts, stuff like that) and understand the structure and fundamentals of engines, transmissions, etc. Let me tell you, I am not rich, nor are my parents (family income...$25,000/yr ). I only have $1500 saved up. I am more interested in purchasing old import cars (2nd generation Integra's, civics, etc.) but I wouldn't mind a 1988-1991 Mustang or something along that line. What do you guys suggest I do?
Old 05-13-2009, 06:20 PM
moe7404

Default RE: Give me some advice for new car

moe in wichita ks first off, the first job you get start saving for retirement, at first you may be able to only save but 5% but when you get a raise bump it up. in 10 to 20 years you should be saving 20%. i dont know any thing about investmets, but stay a way from the stock market. and dont buy whole life ins, buy term insurance as soon as you can, get at least $500,000, better $1,000,000. also you could have your own copany. to start a co it takes lots of thinking, planing, start small, when you get big enough go llc, and dont break any laws, keep good records. good luck [email protected]