Notices
Everything Diesel Discuss R/C Diesel engines here.

newbie question McCoy 0.049

Old 02-01-2011, 10:46 AM
jojo003

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie question McCoy 0.049

Dear experts,
I'm a complete newbie to RC, but for a little science project we have obtained a McCoy 0.049 diesel model airplane engine. After buying the engine on ebay, i'm a bit worried that something is missing. Shouldn't there be a piston under the red anodized top of the engine?
Thanks for the help in advance.
Best,
Joris
Old 02-01-2011, 12:16 PM
coriolan

Default RE: newbie question McCoy 0.049

If your engine looks like that it will have a contra piston to adjust the compression (in the McCoy .049, it had an O-ring which might need replacement). It was a nice engine in its time but depending what you intend to do with it a modern engine would probably have been easier to deal with. Why do you need a diesel engine specificaly?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu61952.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	1556910   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rm36530.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	369.8 KB
ID:	1556911   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw59616.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	370.9 KB
ID:	1556912   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pj18584.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	357.0 KB
ID:	1556913  
Old 02-01-2011, 02:58 PM
spaceworm

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have had a McCoy .099 Diesel since 1953 if anyone is interested. I have never run it, although it is not new.

Sincerely, Richard
Old 02-02-2011, 05:08 AM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I had a McCoy .09 diesel in the late 50's. I liked it very well. I flew it on the RC planes of the time period.
Old 02-02-2011, 01:33 PM
jojo003

Hi,
This is how this little engine looks like. To me it looks like the piston is missing, right?!