Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Need advice on first sailplane.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Need advice on first sailplane.

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2011, 12:05 PM
ScottMcM
My Feedback: (66)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice on first sailplane.

I am considering buying this plane, and I have a few questions. Someone said it was an Olympic 99, but the wingspan is off (86.5"). Any ideas as to what plane it is? Is the engine pod the best way to get airborne, or is there a better way? Lastly, what size engine should I be looking for? I have been flying glow/gas powered planes for several years, but this is my first attempt with a sailplane, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63823.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	1579685   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt62367.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	1579686   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw57147.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	1579687  
Old 03-16-2011, 12:44 PM
Ranfred Radius
My Feedback: (8)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Need advice on first sailplane.

Looks like an Oly to me! Or maybe a Craft Air Drifter. These sailplanes are known as "Gas Bags". real floaters indeed. They'll stay up in the lightest thermals! Unfortunately, a power pod with a I.C. engine will reduce the model's performance in the power off mode. If you want a power plane, get a power plane. Otherwise, a Hi start is the best way to launch these types of gliders.

Randy
Old 03-16-2011, 01:28 PM
ScottMcM

It makes sense that the pod would hurt the performance. Thanks for the advice. I'll be looking into a Hi start.
Old 03-16-2011, 02:43 PM
planebuilder66