Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Somebody please help me understand something

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2011, 07:52 PM
Maesin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Somebody please help me understand something

I was at my local hobby shop today and I have narrowed my search down to the Losi XXX-4 or the Associated B44. Anyway, the shop owner helped me out with setting up a package and he said his Losi XXX-4 is equipped with a Tekin 10.5 system with a LiPo 4200 maH battery. I asked him about how fast it runs and he said the thing really flies, about 40 MPH. From glancing around the store, I see these Traxxas VXL models that claim to go 70+ MPH. I asked the guy about if that is because of the battery and he said that anything over 4000 maH is overkill.

Now I am new to this, so here is my question. Can I dish out in upwards of $800 for this Losi with the Tekin system and have somebody who drops $400 for the Traxxas just blow my doors off?

I do understand top end doesn't always mean much, but I am only going to run with a bunch of friends and most likely not much on the track.

Thanks guys.

Edit: Oh also, will I find more speed going to a 1/8 model rather than a 1/10 scale?

Old 03-24-2011, 07:57 PM
sloppyG

Default RE: Somebody please help me understand something

that traxxas stuff is only fast in a straight line
Old 03-24-2011, 08:06 PM
deviltrigger529

What if all he is doing is drag racing? Then hes screwed lol.

It all depends on the battery, the more volts the more speed, and most of the traxxas stuff that claims that usually suffer from heat problems lol.

Also, what your shop said is retarded, you can never have too many mah, thats pretty much the gas tank for runtime although it does represent some to power, but thats a good thing.
Old 03-24-2011, 08:20 PM
Ttam Says Blarg