Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

No Spartan i guess!

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

No Spartan i guess!

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2011, 11:11 AM
jrc4120

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No Spartan i guess!

Hello, I was thinking of getting a new boat and liked the Spartan, mainly since i have had Traxxas cars and always had good experiences with them. After looking around online, I'm glad i didnt make the buy, cause it seems like it may be junk!

Qustion is, what is a good boat for me in that price range. I have very little experience with boats, other than having an old kyosho electric when i was a kid. I do have alot of experience with other types of r/c though. I want something that is brushless and fast, looks good, and is durable and boat beginner friendly. Is the supervee 27 a good option? Saw some posts on the Miss Geico, is that a good option for me? have to say I dont like the look of the catamran style as much as the spartan or supervee. Any suggestions on a fast easy to use boat that looks good? Thanks!
Old 04-05-2011, 11:21 AM
jrc4120

Default RE: No Spartan i guess!

Just saw the Shockwave 26, how is that boat? Looks like it only takes one pack, would that make it much slower than others? How fast would the shockwave be on 2s? Thanks!
Old 04-05-2011, 11:42 AM
siberianhusky

GO with an SV for a ready to run mono, The steerable hardware is junk on the proboat. Lots of SVs available used for about 150$ with the usual upgrades like trim tab adjusters and a better motor cooler. They usually get a gelcoat crack along the transom above the rudder.
They handle pretty well to about 50mph, but you have to have it set up well for that! And upgrade the motor. I personally think they are pretty fun stock especially if you have a few others to run against.
Not to many issues with them.