Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

tornado s30 steering servo

Old 06-03-2011, 08:43 AM
hpz937

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tornado s30 steering servo

I just picked up a tornado s30, I am very new to RC cars. I'm a little unhappy with the performance of the steering servo, its slow and seems too a little weak, I was going to upgrade it but im not entirely sure what I need. I was looking at this: http://www.hobbypartz.com/servo-mg996r.html will that work sufficiently or any suggestions.
Old 06-03-2011, 08:52 AM
edgeverse

Default RE: tornado s30 steering servo

I had the same prob with my earthquake 8e.

I upgraded mine with a new servo from hobbypartz as well.
The steering and tracking (it stays straight when driving straight) are dead one perfect.
http://www.hobbypartz.com/60gexidised2.html

The one you are looking at looks to be a good one.
Old 06-04-2011, 12:10 AM
carslover

i have a tornado as well...... i drove mine through a puddle on accident and the steering servo wasn't too fond of it.... so i changed to a spare hitech servo i had from piper j3 cub(airplane) and its a high torque metal geared servo and man let me tell you the difference it is like night and day
Old 06-04-2011, 02:21 AM
diltech

Hi,

I change my receiver and radio temporarily with another brand. This is often the way the radio is set up which gives the speed or not to your servo (Some programs on radio). With another brand, steering is very quick and even too (same servo). Everything depends on your radio equipment and setting.
Old 06-12-2011, 01:39 PM
diltech

I change all servos on Tornado today because two originals servos down. I chose Hi-TEC HS-645MG Ultra Torque is a very fast and hi torque with metal gear. Better than original !
Old 06-12-2011, 01:45 PM
hpz937