Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > Wren Turbines USA
Reload this Page >

Wren SS starting issues please help!!!

Community
Search
Notices
Wren Turbines USA Wren USA no longer providing support for their turbines. We are converting this forum into a member supported support forum. This means members will solve members problems

Wren SS starting issues please help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2011, 01:27 PM
AAbdu
My Feedback: (18)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Wren SS starting issues please help!!!

Let me start by saying I have run everything from Wankel 30s to YS 170 DZs, however I am very new to turbines.

I have a Wren SS mounted in a Boomerang Sprint that used to start and run perfectly! The plane has two trim flights on it but otherwise very little time. I have run the motor in my front yard 5 or 6 times and it has always started flawlessly, and that is how it was when I put it up last winter.

I got the pane out this year and fueled it up, including Powermax. It started up and ran well. I shut it down and went to do my chores. The next day I tried to start it I had very little luck.I eventually got it running but it flamed out (was probably low on fuel), I fueled it up and after a bit of doing got it running again then shut it down. I have not been able to start it up since. For some reason, it just WILL NOT LITE!

I have tried adding more Powermax, opening the valve after the solenoid to get more gas, and numerous restart attempts. When I try to start it this is exactly what happens.

1. Turn on the power to everything (all batteries freshly charged)
2. Put the trim in the start position and look at the display (it says ready)
3. Advance then lower the throttle, display shows each step (glow test, ignition, RPMs, etc)
4. Electric motor spools up the engine.... then nothing
5. Eventually the display says "Timed Out" while the motor coasts to a stop.
6. Shut everything down then repeat