Community
Search
Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Engine dies during Running 8 pushover

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2011, 06:45 PM
wildnloose

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Engine dies during Running 8 pushover

First, let me say that I am no expert by any means, but I must ask the question.

Have you considered using a bladder tank?? I am putting together a P7 and have considered this. For some reason I think it will work.

FWIW, 2 guys from Texas came up for a CPA meet, both had P7's With OS55 engines (1 with the Evo performance muffler, the other with a Jett). Both had engines leaning out/deadsticking during the outside loop maneuver. One of the local guys (with a OS .61/Jett) mentioned he had the same problem. He advised them to open the muffler nipple one size (turn drill bit with hand). While it did not completely cure the problem (they still experienced some hesitation), it did stop the deadsticks and both were able to compete both days.

Just a thought...
Old 07-27-2011, 01:58 AM
Taurus Flyer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Wildnloos,

While you didn’t respond to my posts I am so free to show extra information related to your muffler nipple. Hope you or Dave don’t mind.

As mentioned before the tank pressure is directly related to the throttle level of the engine see my post 19.
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=10637662

If throttling back in normal flight position, the pressure will be released (or relieved?) fast by an airstream through the muffler line to the exhaust system if the airintake in the tank is above the fuel level.
Throttling back short time before or during nose down position can have the result some fuel have to be spilled because the air intake in the tank is below fuel level. This fuel is released through the muffler and is same amount as air that has to expand to get the lower pressure.