Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

CRRC Back Fire

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2010, 01:36 PM
DAVESDAD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CRRC Back Fire

Hi All

I've been running a CRRC 50i for about 18 months with no real problems after initially getting it set up. Ran it in using a mineral oil and then on to a synthetic oil used for Ryobi 2 strokes and it ran fine. This week changed over to a castrol synthetic 2 stroke oil at the same ratio of 50:1 and a world of problems. Basically the engine won't run, but keeps backfiring and throwing the prop. Number one son has the bruised fingers to prove the need for good gloves when starting these engines!
Anyway can a change of oil make such a difference or am I looking for another problem, plug, igition? The plug is not sooty but it is black but looks the same as it did when last removed. Any pointers please ?
Old 04-19-2010, 02:30 PM
Neo gold

Default RE: CRRC Back Fire

Just to clarify....i'm sure the manual states a max of a 40:1 fuel mix yes?..( I could be wrong!!).....anyways, replace the dci & plug.
On both my crrc pro 26's i started as manual states.....25:1 for a nice rich mix for run-in...one gallon...on cheap synthetic comma oil,...steady air flying..& occasional high speed etc..
Then second gallon i ran fully synthetic putoline oil & a mix of 40:1..as manual....using a 4.8v 2700mah sanyo batt pack...& jumped to a 17"6 prop as opposed to a 16"8 for run in.
Dci's & plugs are a consumable item...they wear out/degrade & break down over prolonged usage.
Old 04-19-2010, 03:37 PM
DAVESDAD

Hi Neo Gold. You're right about the recommended ratio but we ran for over a year at 50:1 without problems. I'm really surprised just changing to a different make of oil could make such a difference which makes me wonder if something else is wrong. By the way the run in ratio was at 25:1. I'll try the original oil again and see if it solves the problem.
Old 04-19-2010, 04:40 PM
mpascual