Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

New to electrics/ opinions

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2011, 10:24 AM
wagspe208
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to electrics/ opinions

OK, background. I have been flying rc airplanes for years off and on. I am a capable pilot. I havew had everything from eagle 20?? to ultimate biplanes, sticks, profile planes, etc. So, skill level is ok.
I have always been a fuel guy. Never tried electric because it was junk (years ago).
Now, I want to try one out. I live in the country, so flying area is not an issue. Smooth landing surrface is. (well, long and smooth).
So, I want to jump in with something small to hand launch capable. 30" to 36" wingspan ish. I want to go profile plane cause they can be flown slow, do 3d, fly ok sport wise, etc. I have radio equipment JR. (but will have to get micro servos)

I was looking at the performance aerobatics shock. Decent looking plane. Priced not to bad.
I saw an e flite cap 232 maybe at the LHS. Also decent looking.

So, any suggestions. Like I said... if I like it, I will step up to something bigger and go to the field. These smaller pieces can be tossed in the service van and stop by the field on the way home, thrown up in the air in the back yard, etc.

Oh, I am not a 3d guy. I am more of a sport guy. Just like to be able to do some stuff if inclined. I also don't feel at all bad wadding up a profile plane. LOL

Thanks
Wags
Old 09-18-2011, 10:34 AM
wagspe208

Default RE: New to electrics/ opinions

Oh, I have a lipo charger from small helis.
I know nothing about ESC's, motors, etc. So, something matched would be great for starting out.
And I am not a fan of foam. So, they are out.
Thanks
Wags
Old 09-18-2011, 11:10 AM
grimmy55