Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

Confused about first 3D to buy

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Confused about first 3D to buy

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 09:48 AM
sixinarow

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Confused about first 3D to buy

Hi all. It's been a while! I'm getting back into RC. I've been flying a UM Trojan for six months and while it's fun I'd like to move up to a 3D. The Trojan just doesn't do inverted like I want.

I'm sure it's been discussed plenty but I thought I'd ask again. What should I get? For outdoor and large indoor spaces I'm looking at the 3DHS, DW Foamies, Techone Hobbies planes. For indoor/outdoor I looked at the DW 20" that uses Parkzone guts with a brushless kit.

I'd like to buy one that I can purchase a motor/ESC with since I'm kind of lost on all this new tech. I don't mind a kit, as I like to build. Most state what motor/ESC/batt/servos to use but am unsure on what receiver to use. A DX6i will be used.

I'll keep researching. It's just overwhelming! So many brands and I don't know what is good and what is junk.

Needs:
Indoor/outdoor, focusing on outdoor. 30-36" span?
Preferably all foam
Something that handles a 2.4 receiver mated to a DX6i
Something I can learn 3D on but not be bored with it later

Thanks! It's good to be back!
Old 11-26-2011, 04:47 PM
ES CONTROL

Default RE: Confused about first 3D to buy

do you have a flight simulator?
Old 11-26-2011, 05:20 PM
sixinarow

No I don't have a sim. I'm fairly proficient at flying and inverted.
Old 11-26-2011, 05:23 PM
ES CONTROL

Go to a local hobby shop and test drive a Great Planes G6 simulator with all the expansion packs. 
Be shure to try the 51" AJ Slick on expansion pack No. 7 and you found your plane. 
9 sizes to choose from. 126" wing span down to a foamy.

You will need to fly, than sim., than fly, than sim. etc.