Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Test Stand

Old 03-24-2012, 03:48 PM
AmishWarlord
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Test Stand

Yeah I think the tank the scientific stand have not been insolated for vibration. Also the engine is rigid mounted on an aluminum beam. It looks like the wooden mounts do a better job at dampening vibration than the rigid metal ones.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3pLk8cMSLI
Old 03-24-2012, 04:57 PM
kwblake

Isn't that a wonderful sound!!!
Old 03-24-2012, 05:54 PM
turbo.gst
My Feedback: (8)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Fantastic! Thanks for posting the video of the Saito Radial.
Old 03-25-2012, 03:50 AM
Pecanpatch

I'm a machinist and a welder..... I built these 2 over the years.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/gallery/ga...m?itemid=83366

http://www.rcuniverse.com/gallery/ga...m?itemid=83343

Old 03-25-2012, 04:10 AM
earlwb

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Those are some pretty nice engine test stands.
I like the idea of using the aluminum or steel block for checking out the heli-shafts with.
Old 03-25-2012, 07:46 AM
mike31
My Feedback: (67)

Is that a cloaking device on the prop? Clingons nearby?
Old 03-25-2012, 07:54 AM
rgburrill

Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts

Black and Decker Workmate. You clamp your engine in the grooves on the edge of the boardsby the mounts. Just make sure the spacing on the boards is set so the back is slightly wider than the front. Otherwise you will have a fly away engine

Note, my MDS 61 did want to try to make the Workmate fly so I had to add some weight to it.

Double note, the Workmate also doubles as a work table
Old 03-25-2012, 09:56 AM
jessiej

I attach my test stands to a work table similar to the workmate, but it has a hinged work surface so I can rotate the engine to vertical while it is running. When I have done this provedure using the same tank and possitioning as I use in the plane I have never had an engine perform differently in the plane than on the bench.

jess