Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives
Reload this Page >

Testing Servoless Retract Landing Gears safely

Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Testing Servoless Retract Landing Gears safely

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2012, 01:58 PM
cobrajocky

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Testing Servoless Retract Landing Gears safely

I just received a bunch of 3.7g Servo-less Retract Landing Gears from, where else, China. These are pretty high quality, rebuildable, metal gears, metal strut block. I'd like to test them in a simple way just for operation - opening / closing repeatedly - before installing them. I'm pretty new to servoless retracts, always used servo or air-operating retracts.

Looking for suggestions on how to set up a "test rig" without using a transmitter to test them without damaging or burning them up. I have a 3 Mode Servo Driver / Tester (see picture) that has 1) Manual mode, 2) Auto Neutral centering, and 3) Auto Continuous Cycle (rotation) mode. This Servo Driver connects to an ESC and then to a LiPO for power.

I would like to test full extension to retract, lock up and cycle the retracts (open / close) to filter out the flakey ones, if there are any.

Any solid suggestions appreciated.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vs55639.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	1767971  
Old 06-01-2012, 11:26 PM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Testing Servoless Retract Landing Gears safely

The problem is that the servo less retracts have a duty cycle limit which is likely unknown.
Details
To drive the retracts, you will need two different pulse trains, one with a pulse width of about 1000 to ~1200us, and one with a pulse width of 1800-2000us,