Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

New to boats

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

New to boats

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 08:06 PM
mudboger07

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to boats

Hello guys Im new to boats but not rc, I just picked up a used exceed 26cc hydro, the motor and drive system could use some work, the motor looks like a homelite weed eater motor with the red front cover, I have a couple ? the boat is 48" long 24" wide

1- will the zanoah motors fit ok in this boat?

2- the orignal flex shaft was 1/4 inch but dropped to 1/8" at the prop, the new flext shaft I bought is 1/4 inch all the way, will this be ok ? I did order a new strut assemebly for the new shaft also.

3 - Id like to do some hop ups , any ideas?

4 - Is a turn fin needed?

Thanks for any info.

Ken
Old 06-20-2012, 08:26 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: New to boats

1. The Zenoah should fit in there but you may need to do some fabricating and redrilling the engine rails to get everything hooked up.
2. Yes, you're better off with the cable and propshaft being 1/4" all the way as it'll be much easier to get props that'll fit and work.
3. As far as hop-ups go, there are plenty of them from a better exhaust system for starters then you can have the Zen modded.
4. A turn fin sure couldn't hurt as these boats generally come without one.

Honestly, I wouldn't go crazy with the mods but just save them for later on down the road for when you get a better boat.
Old 06-21-2012, 05:37 AM
mudboger07

ORIGINAL: Ron Olson

1. The Zenoah should fit in there but you may need to do some fabricating and redrilling the engine rails to get everything hooked up.
2. Yes, you're better off with the cable and propshaft being 1/4" all the way as it'll be much easier to get props that'll fit and work.