Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

LiPo Life

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2012, 03:35 AM
thailazer

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default LiPo Life

I am new to electric flight, although I did fly an electric plane for a while two years ago. I was recently given an ESKY Hunter coaxial helicopter and it has been a lot of fun. The original LiPo puffed up after about 12 flights so I bought a new one at the LHS. They told me to not take it out of the heli and to avoid handling the battery. Okay, had not heard that before and the new pack has about 30 flights on it and flight times are about half of what they were when it was new. Is this loss of flying time typical after 30 cycles? I am using the balancer/charger that came with the Hunter. Seems like batteries should last many hundreds of cycles with no degradation.
Old 07-26-2012, 03:58 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 351 Likes on 281 Posts
Default RE: LiPo Life

I dont know so much about hundreds but it should be better than 30 flights thats for sure. Battery life is directly proportional to 3 things, in order of impact.

1. How low its discharged to each flight. If you wait till there isnt enough power to fly every flight, what you're seeing is typical.
2. How hard its run during flight as far as sustained loads versus the battery C rating, keeping in mind that C ratings are often optimistic
3. How many amps you charge at
Old 07-26-2012, 04:52 AM
inedesca

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

There is a problem though; you let your batteries away for a while and you will find that they degrade and inflate. so this idea that shelf life is long to me is just a lie, all of my bateries end up this way after a while (lets say a month or two theyget inflated).
I do not know if this happens to all brands, but at least all that I have bought have this problem, so just take care.
Old 07-26-2012, 04:58 AM
thailazer