Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

LiPo rookie

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2012, 05:39 PM
jackalope54
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LiPo rookie

Hi all - I'm new to LiPo batteries and have a concern. I'm using a 4S 3600 mah LiPo for my Hobbico glow engine starter. The battery is an inexpensive one from Hobby King. I noticed today the battery swelled at some point while at the field. I quit using it for the day and brought it home and charged it on my Onyx 235 at 1C. The battery seemed to charge without incident. When I first attached it to the charger, the balancer showed a range of 4.012 to 4.020 for the 4 cells. After charging (only required 785 ma), the cells ranged from 4.230 to 4.307.

I disconnected the battery for a few minutes, then went back to let it balance. I'm now getting a Battery Voltage Error shortly after starting the charger. No problem with other LiPo batteries and the battery in question is driving my starter as usual.

Question 1: Is the battery safe to use?

Question 2: What are the typical causes for a "Battery Voltage Error" in a battery that seems to be functioning well? Excessive voltage, loss of a cell or ???

Thanks
Jack
Old 08-19-2012, 12:06 AM
trax de max

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: LiPo rookie

I would check the cells with a volt meter, maybe a false reading from charger.
Old 08-19-2012, 02:43 AM
nonstoprc
My Feedback: (90)

Seems once cell (the one with after-charge voltage of 4.230v) is slower to take charge than the rest of the cells. Because of that, the charger chargers the rest of the cells more than it can balance at the end (to 4.307v), while just fills the slow-cell to the standard cut-off voltage for lipo.

In my experience, a slow-charging lipo cell always means the cell is near its life cycle.

The brand and how many cycles on the pack?