Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Gas Engine interference

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2012, 09:29 AM
suburban95
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gas Engine interference

Hi guys I am new to gas engine airplanes and I am having a little interference problem. I have a new Sig Arf Extra 300XS and I put in the recommended FPE 2.4 gas engine. This engine has the stock Igniton (Ridge) with the fixed timing. I have a separate 4.8 volt igniton battery and a Life battery for the receiver. I am using an RCXel opto-kill switch and a Spektrum AR7000 receiver and a DX7 Transmitter. My problem is that with the engine running the aileron servos go nuts and I have absolutely no control. The rudder and elevator servos are fine only the ailerons are the problem. I have the receivers more than 10 inches from the igniton and ignition battery I am using twisted extensions on the aileron and other servos and the throttle servo is approximately in line with the aileron servos and it is not glitching at all. All the servos are analog Hitec 645mg. I can't figure out why only the aileron servos are affected. Would changing the ignition to the RCxel igniton help with interference? I was hoping not to have to do that change right away but I can't fly this thing now anyway so if that is the answer then I guess I need to bite the bullet and get that done. Any help would be much appreciated.
Old 09-04-2012, 09:35 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 351 Likes on 281 Posts
Default RE: Gas Engine interference

How do you have the aileron servos hooked up to the receiver?

Twisted extensions don't do anything for interference btw
Old 09-04-2012, 09:45 AM
suburban95