Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Sometimes we pay too much

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 11:03 AM
narwalrus
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Sometimes we pay too much

None of my cars work.

Actually two work... but that's due to the fact I only have two radios.

I have all Tamiya's + a Losi MRC. I have never broken them by crashing.... stuff has just broken off. I'm a good driver, but it gets very fusturating.
Even Tamiya and other stuff can be lower quality.

I do have a Kyosho DRX brushless on the way... my first attemp at going fast offroad. I did buy a E-Maxx for $20 though... which I used Ta03 electrics in and then traded for a Mini-Z and a RC18.. then traded the RC18 and a Losi Micro Rally for a losi mini rock crawler... sold the TA03 as a roller for $60..

When people ask for "What's the best cheap car... I want to spend around ($ Amount) but don't want to go over ($ Amount)... it's logical to go to the top of your budget.

What annoys me about Traxxas is the way that hobby shops and fans recommend them... want an RC car? Traxxas Slash or Traxxas Stampede?
Traxxas stuff does usually "Just work" which is where a lot of the attraction is.

There are a lot of good cheap beginner cars from lesser known brands entering the market now.. and given the choice when I first got into cars I wish I would have bought one of them.
My first car was a TA03 (Actuall I think it was a losi micro rally). And I had no clue what to do with it.. It worked for a while. I think. I really just had no clue what was going on, but working on some old junk taught me how to work on my new cars.

The Losi was great though - almost wish I still had it.

I think now I would recommend something like Aarma, Helion, Speed Passion, etc.

Me more had say to thing but often brain work not right, definitively.