Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Tigermoth on Floats with NO rudder

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Tigermoth on Floats with NO rudder

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2012, 10:42 PM
Approach Control
My Feedback: (44)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tigermoth on Floats with NO rudder

Hello I'm new to float planes. I bought a used 90 size tiger moth with a saito 150FS with floats. The floats dont have a rudder. The previous owner said "its not needed for this airplane". Is that correct?
Old 09-11-2012, 02:09 AM
alasdair

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Tigermoth on Floats with NO rudder

Hi,
I rarely use a water rudder on floatplanes.
If there is very little wind they will turn using the air rudder.
Mostly, they will try to weathercock into wind. If the wind is strong the weathercocking tendancy overcomes any water rudder anyway.
Many models will overturn if you try to force them round a turn in a strong wind. It is safer to let them weathercock.
If the wind is onshore then take off straight into wind. Touch down straight into wind, cut the engine and let it drift back to shore.
If the wind is offshore, it is slightly more tricky as you have to put the model in the water and power up to fast taxi out (before it gets a chance to weathercock). Take off towards the shore (but not directly towards other people). Once airborne turn quickly away from the shore. Fast models can stand a little tailwind so if the wind is light you can take off downwind, away from yourself. Then touch down into wind,a safe distance out, and taxi into wind towards the shore.

Flying boats (and somelow wing monoplanes with floats)generally have better water handling and can stand being taxied in a stronger wind.

Turbine powered waterplanes do not have propwash over the air rudder so they need a water rudder.
Old 09-11-2012, 03:10 AM