Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Multi Rotor Helicopters
Reload this Page >

Building a multirotor copter

Community
Search
Notices
Multi Rotor Helicopters Discuss Multi rotor RC Helicopter's here!

Building a multirotor copter

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2012, 12:49 PM
LRFitch

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a multirotor copter

I'm new to multirotors, and would like to build a reasonably priced multirotor that will fly with my transmitter, and by self-directed flight. I'd like to include FPV at some point. I've been reading about the HobbyKing KK2 board, but it does not appear able to interface with a GPS unit to support self guidance. What reasonably priced flight controller is recommended to work well with a GPS unit? I believe the FPV equipment doesn't have much if any interface with flight controller. but I quickly admit I don't know much about all this electronics.

I'm also not sure what type of copter is the best way to go. I've been thinkingn about a larger X4 style, but recently have read that a #8 might be better to haul all the needed electronics. Thoughts? Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Larry Fitch
Old 10-25-2012, 07:18 AM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Default RE: Building a multirotor copter

There's nothing "reasonably priced" about the kind of machine you want to build. The Naza board is pretty much standard for those who want GPS guidance, so that's the place to start. A quad will be fine on lighter wind days but a hex is more stable.
Old 10-29-2012, 05:17 PM
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Building a multirotor copter