Community
Search
Notices
Off Topic Forum - Cars, Trucks, Buggies and more Get to know your fellow RCU member modelers in here and discuss off topic non-rc stuff. Only two topics OFF LIMITS are religion and politics. This forum for car & truck members. Plane & Heli members have their own in clubhouse section.

Any gun guys out there? Use Break-Free CLP?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2012, 03:05 AM
NCWalrus

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any gun guys out there? Use Break-Free CLP?

I'm new to RC but big into shooting sports (mostly handguns).

Are any of you familiar with the product Break-Free CLP? This is the only product I use when cleaning my Glock and Sig. It cleans lubricates and protects - hence "CLP".

I just cleaned my entire RC car last night with WD40 and it left the whole car greasy and seems like its going to be a dirt magnet. CLP leaves a durable coating behind, not grease.

Have any of you tried this or have any recommendations when trying something like this out on the whole car?

Old 10-24-2012, 04:17 AM
johndavis

Default RE: Any gun guys out there? Use Break-Free CLP?

if there is any type of residue left it will be a dirt magnet. break free is a good cleaner and lubricant. but it will leave a residue. even some brake parts cleaner leaves a residue. best thing ive heard of is contact cleaner but it is expensive to use for rc cars. i clean mine with mean green and water. i take out the electronics and engine and servo's

Old 10-24-2012, 05:18 AM
phmaximus

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

check out dry silicon lube... dirt does not stick to that. thats why its used on garage door slides
Old 10-24-2012, 09:51 AM
john01374

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts