Notices
Losi Monster Trucks Discuss all Losi Monster Trucks (i.e. LST) in this forum. Optionally you may discuss this and all other MT's in our general MT forum.

1/8 motor ideas?

Old 11-05-2012, 11:39 AM
hoosier_rc_nut
My Feedback: (17)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1/8 motor ideas?

Just got a Losi aftershock roller as a "project truck". I got a mamba 1/8 esc with it, but no motor. I've never dealt with 1/8 electrics before, or castle esc's so, I have a couple of questions. My first question is what range works best with trucks this size when it comes to kv ratings? In other words, should I be looking in the 1000 to 2000 kv range, maybe 1500 to 2500 kv range? I'm looking for a motor that will give me both torque and speed. My second question is how do I program the esc to my radio and receiver once I do get a motor? I've looked the esc over thoroughly and I can't find a "program" or "set" button anywhere on it. I will be using a traxxas 2.4 ghz on it. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.
Old 11-05-2012, 11:41 AM
hoosier_rc_nut

Default RE: 1/8 motor ideas?

btw the aftershock has the e conversion kit on it.
Old 11-07-2012, 11:02 PM
just_now

Hi,

I have brushless LST2's that have 1717, 1520, 1518, and 1515. All of them are fun, but it comes down to how many cells do you want to run. The truck that I use the most is probably my LST@ with the 1518 motor. This allows me to get plenty of torque/speed and run on a 5s 5000 mah battery.

Here is a pic of my truck with a 1717

If you need any help, just drop me a note and don't forget to use the speed calculator. I like to target a top speed of about ~40mph.

http://scriptasylum.com/rc_speed/top_speed.html

As for programing the ESC to the remote, just go to the castle site and follow the direction (I copied and paste below). If you want to customize settings you will need to get castle link to do so.

How to Calibrate the ESC