Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Glider Servos

Old 12-08-2012, 03:28 AM
Yank II

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Glider Servos

I plan to order a kit of a 110" wing span glider (approx. 5-6 lbs) and I can not find any info on the size of servo (small medium or large) or torque requirements. I plan on spoilers and ailerons. I sent an email to the builder of the kit and got a real sarcastic reply. I am new to gliders and any help would be appreciated. Would the Hitec HS-225MG (54oz-4.8v-66oz-6v) servo's do the job?
Old 12-08-2012, 04:21 AM
Tinkrerpilot
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Glider Servos

Would help if we had more info on the glider. A name , a picture, something. Type of flying you plan on doing. Need more info.
Old 12-08-2012, 08:02 AM
ARUP

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My 118" span scratchbuilt 1/6 scale 1932 BS2 'Balestruccio' will use HS-125MG servos which should be more than adequate for straight and level scale thermaling flight.
Old 12-08-2012, 08:22 AM
LovesToSail

The answer is that it depends... I fly 99" to 130" gliders that never see above 40MPH (on motor launch) and only use up to Hitec HS-81 for aileron and flaps (4 servo wing). My RES planes use HS81 but I am moving to HS65 in my next altitude limited electric soaring (ALES) glider.

I have an Airtronics Legend 113" (fastest that I have because it has very high wing loading) that uses all HS81 (metal gear on flaps).

I have generally moved to the Metal Gear for flaps as well as rudder (due to spins on landing which can wipe out the gear train).

For spoilers I use HK tower pro 9gr ($3) servos which have not failed ever. On some it is one installed the fuse pulling strings to spoilers, on others I just put one in each spoiler bay to directly push the spoiler.

Scott
PS - a 5-6lb 110" wing glider is pretty high wing loading.

Old 12-12-2012, 02:54 AM
Yank II