Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Looking for a good rc for my son

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2012, 10:52 PM
Vicarious2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for a good rc for my son

Hi,

I’m brand new to the forums here. I want to buy my 12 year old son an rc vehicle for one of his Christmas gifts and I would like some suggestions. I’m new to the hobby, but have done a bit of research before my first post. He’s owned a few radio shack quality rc cars around the $100 range, but I’d like to spend between $180-$300 for him on this purchase. I’m mainly interested in getting him a RTR 1/10 or 1/8 electric and possibly nitro. I can help him with tuning and repairs for the nitro. He will be running it almost 100% of the time in thick grass(up to 7 inches tall) and dirt roads. He has 10 acres of land to run his car on. He’s not interested in a fast car, but rather a car that is geared to push through thick grass and a bit of rough(not really rocky) mostly hard dirt terrain. I know that he will get stuck in the grass from time to time since I'm not getting him a 1/5 baja, so I'm not expecing a tank that can go through anything. Even on flat dirt, he doesn’t need to exceed 20-25 mph. So, what we are looking for is a car that is durable, easy to control, maybe a bit on the heavy side, and is hard to flip at reasonable speeds and moderate terrain. I’m thinking the 4wd monster trucks might be his best bet for his needs but also something with a fairly low center of gravity so it’s not easy to flip, so maybe a stadium truck would be better than a monster truck? I’d rather not get him a kit for his first until I see how much patience he has when making repairs to his first hobby quality vehicle. I’m willing to consider anything even a nitro model. So, mainly a durable, easy to control, stable, and not too fast but g