Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Art Tech Wing Dragon 4 as a Beginner Plane

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Art Tech Wing Dragon 4 as a Beginner Plane

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2009, 04:14 AM
bmario

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Art Tech Wing Dragon 4 as a Beginner Plane

Hi everyone

I wanted to buy a Art Tech Wing Dragon 4, 4Ch RTF airplane as my first rc plane since I am just starting to learn flying. After reading forums on beginners first plane I came to know that the Art Tech Wing Dragon 3 Channel is a good choice for a beginner because it does not have aileron and therefore very much easier for a beginner to fly. But what if I buy the Wing Dragon 4 and lock (with tape perhaps) and disable its aileron control so it can't be used, will this make it similar to the Wing Dragon 3 CH in ease of flying and performance? Then later on, when I am ready, I can unlock and enable the aileron controll to get the full capabilities of a Wing Dragon 4 4 Channel plane with aileron. By starting with Wing Dragon 4, I do not have to buy another plane when I am ready to fly a plane with an aileron. Is it possible to lock and disable the ailron of the Wing Dragon 4? If so, will the performance and ease of use be the same as the Wing Dragon 3 channel rc plane? If it does work, then I save by buying only one plane instead of two - one w/o aileron to start with and then another one later w/aileron. Then I can use the amount saved to upgrade the Wing Dragon 4 w/brush motor to a brushless one.

Any help and suggestions is higly appreciated
Thanks

bmario
Old 05-03-2009, 10:28 AM
Andrewmc

Default RE: Art Tech Wing Dragon 4 as a Beginner Plane

Our club does not agree with the principle of learning with three channels first and then moving up to 4 later. All of our students learn on 4 channel planes i.e. with ailerons.