Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Unusual R/C
Reload this Page >

Tank/Buggy With Jump Jets

Notices
Unusual R/C Discuss Airships, Blimps, LTA, VTOL, Ground Effect Vehicles, Hovercaft and more.

Tank/Buggy With Jump Jets

Old 12-17-2012, 03:08 AM
Imbedded

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tank/Buggy With Jump Jets

Hey RCU,

I'm completely new to RC, about the only experience I have is playing with remoteless toy cars that went around tracks and steered with rollers and used 2 AA batteries.
I wanted to make something that functioned alot like the Landmaster tank from StarFox, or the Mako from Mass Effect. Pretty much a tank/buggy like vehicle that could "jump" by boosting itself in the air with jump jets.

Current plan: 4 wheels - differential steering (not ackermann)
4 props - individually controlled - so vehicles doesn't just flip over.
Optional: 1-2 rear props for boosting.

Basically sounds like a quadcopter + buggy.
Ideas: (they're probably bad)
1. Four motors, one per wheel shared with one prop when jumping.
pros: Ability to fully control vehicle on ground and in air. Possible good power, simple way to transfer power
cons: Weight, Have to switch between jump/drive modes
2. Two motors exclusively for wheels (one per side like a tank). Two motors exclusively for jumping. Still 4 props, but pitch control by connecting/disconnecting power to front/rear props instead of motor speed.
Pros: No need to switch between jump/drive mode.
Cons: Less power/control

3. Eight motors
Pros: Simple, Lots of power
Cons: All that weight?
Old 12-19-2012, 12:07 PM
Zlash03
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Tank/Buggy With Jump Jets