Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

combo for racer

Old 01-15-2013, 07:40 PM
JTANK78

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default combo for racer

i have a b4.1 and want to upgrade from the rtr motor and esc.... what is a good combo to go with, i like castle and stray away from novack> thanks everyone
Old 01-15-2013, 07:51 PM
FahrtAutoRC

Default RE: combo for racer

For that little buggy you might actually like the Novak setup, sensored, of course. I have a buddy who runs it in his and swears by it, best setup he's ever used. I have no personal experience on it, but I would take the advice of a life-long racer and consistent A-main top finisher any day
Old 01-15-2013, 08:10 PM
mattycole

What is the difference..sensored or sensoreless
Old 01-15-2013, 08:21 PM
kaycerc

I never understand why people ask for equipment advice, and then immediately follow it up by blowing off good quality equipment while going for lower common denominator stuff.
Old 01-15-2013, 08:52 PM
JTANK78

i was told at the hobby shop that a few years ago novack was at the top of there game but the past few years novack has been catching fire according to the guys at the shop
Old 01-15-2013, 08:53 PM
JTANK78

not saying i know it to be true but if my car catches fire i will poo myself
Old 01-15-2013, 08:57 PM
FahrtAutoRC

Personally, I've only seen one Novak go up in smoke, and that's because the tool plugged his bullet battery connectors in backwards.

As for sensored vs sensorless: Sensorless, I found, is best in applications that require little finesse and caution, as it is more like having a light switch, or a 3-speed control.

Sensored allows for smoother power delivery and is, IMO, better suited to smaller, more finicky classes, like the 1/10 2wd buggies
Old 01-15-2013, 09:05 PM
JTANK78