Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

OS 61 FX

Old 01-12-2013, 07:10 AM
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OS 61 FX

I recently obtained an OS 61 FX.
I see no ring in it. Is that an ABC engine?
I am thinking of converting it to gas & ignition.
Has anyone tried that?
Old 01-12-2013, 07:29 AM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts
Default RE: OS 61 FX

ORIGINAL: dirtybird

I recently obtained an OS 61 FX.
I see no ring in it. Is that an ABC engine?
I am thinking of converting it to gas & ignition.
Has anyone tried that?
It's probably ABL. Nickel plated brass liner, aluminum piston. Not a good candidate for gasoline as its a tapered bore engine and gasoline burns too hot I think. I'm no expert, but I wouldn't burn gasoline in any ABC/ABN/ABL/AAC engine.
Old 01-15-2013, 06:38 AM
NikolayTT

...also the 10cc engines on gasoline might deliver power which you get from 5cc glow engine on glow fuel + penalty of heavy enough ignition system and battery for it. I would not consider going to gas with any engine smaller than 26cc because gas makes real sense for at least 40cc and even bigger displacements, best from various points of view seems 80cc. Cheers, Nick
Old 01-16-2013, 07:22 AM
dirtybird

ORIGINAL: NikolayTT

...also the 10cc engines on gasoline might deliver power which you get from 5cc glow engine on glow fuel + penalty of heavy enough ignition system and battery for it. I would not consider going to gas with any engine smaller than 26cc because gas makes real sense for at least 40cc and even bigger displacements, best from various points of view seems 80cc. Cheers, Nick
Well to each his own. When I started with this hobby I flew gas engines on ignition with less than 1/4 the power of the engines we have available now. They flew.
Old 01-16-2013, 08:10 AM
NikolayTT