Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Good Newb Questions

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Good Newb Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2013, 04:26 AM
dragonbat13

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good Newb Questions

I Have been messing with Nitro Cars for a couple of years now. I live in southern Louisiana and there is about fifty places within driving distance of my house where I could run a boat. So I want a boat.

I am mostly interested in the large Deep V Gas powered boats in the 40"+ lengths. I want to make this a long term project, as I enjoy the building end of RC as much, if not more, than actually running them.

I for sure want to start out with a Hull and build on it, rather than buy a complete kit or RTR.

I figure that I could build it to a race spec, IF there is a local racing group that races these larger boats. That would only be to give me the option of racing if I wanted to. But I am not building to race. I just dont have the time to race. I figure that the boat would make three or four outings a year, so a high level of after care is not as much an issue as it would be to some.

Anyway, what I am needing to know is,

Where are there some good places to look for info? Also what are some good quality hull companies in the US that I can look at? What about engines? And last, what are the US based racing organizations I can look at the determine what classes would interest me the most? I figure if I looked at the racing classes, it could give me a better idea of what most people do to get the most out of their boats that are the same as what I am interested in.

Although I have looked at quite a few RC boats of this type, this is the kind of boat I am looking into building. I may go more in depth on the details like finish and looks, AKA "shelf queen stuff". This boat seemed to be a temporary use project.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11375084/tm.htm