Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE 55 spacers

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2013, 07:32 PM
Planeclothes
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DLE 55 spacers

I recently purchased a Peakmodel 50 size Edge 540 which I am presently putting together. I mounted a brand new DLE 55 using the stock standoffs and when I put the cowling in place found that the prop drive washer is more than 1/2" BEHIND the cowling's center hole. On top of that I also observed the cowling looks off centered relative to the engine's center line. Obviously the firewall has some right/down thrust built in but the cowling's ring was not offset for that. Bottom line is I need to use 1/2" (or slightly more) spacers and some washers behind the cowling ring to get better centering. I stopped by Home Depot today and picked up (4) 1/2" long nylon spacers and (4) 5mm x 40mm bolts. I also purchased a 4 ft long 3/4" hardwood dowel. This is my first project with an engine larger than 30cc and I am fully aware of how much more vibration a larger engine produces. My question is, would it be safe to use the nylon spacers (easy way out), or should I cut spacers out of hardwood?
Old 01-26-2013, 10:46 PM
Bass1

Default RE: DLE 55 spacers

Not sure how long the stock DLE standoffs are but I've been using those "hardware store" nylon spacers ( total standoff length @ about 1.5 inch)) on planes for years with no problems. Of course I still crash em' daily and don't know why !
Old 01-27-2013, 05:09 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 350 Likes on 280 Posts

McMaster Carr has threaded standoffs in a number of sizes, as does SWB that are aluminum.
Old 01-27-2013, 05:45 AM
Cyberwolf
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi