Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Volcano EXP help

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2013, 05:30 PM
Rambo.kid

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volcano EXP help

Hello folks.

Im pretty new to RC cars so please bear with me.

I put a newEZRun 12T 3300KV Brushless Motor and aEZRun 35A ESC (1:10 / 35A) into my sons car and I also got a Volcano EXP Pro. My question is why is the Pro smoking the EZRun? The only thing we changed in my sons car was the motor and the ESC. Is it the ESC or a gearing problem?

Any help would be appreciated. My son is pretty disappointed that Dads car is faster.

Old 02-11-2013, 05:43 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Volcano EXP help

ORIGINAL: Rambo.kid

Hello folks.

I put a new EZRun 12T 3300KV Brushless Motor and a EZRun 35A ESC (1:10 / 35A) into my sons car and I also got a Volcano EXP Pro. My question is why is the Pro smoking the EZRun? The only thing we changed in my sons car was the motor and the ESC. Is it the ESC or a gearing problem?

Any help would be appreciated. My son is pretty disappointed that Dads car is faster.

Im assuming your epx pro is a current model, and thus the answer is 2 part:
1, the pro has a true 540 can motor. the ezrun you put in the other is likely the 380 size motor in the finned out can. still plenty of power, but not as much torque as the blue novatech 540 motor in the pro models.
The second is that the pro (and this is cause of the 540 motor) has a ezrun/hobbywing S-10 ESC. I read somewhere that it is either a 45 or 60amp speed control. So you have a ESC that can provide more amps to a motor with more torque.

Again, Im assuming you have a current version epx pro....and that both trucks are using the same battery and gearing.

the epx with the new system is much faster than the stock brushed right?
Old 02-11-2013, 05:54 PM
Rambo.kid