Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Propeller advise for multiplex parkmaster

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Propeller advise for multiplex parkmaster

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2013, 01:12 AM
kemp83

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Propeller advise for multiplex parkmaster

Hi, I am new in electric models. I only have experience with nitro and gas models, so I need help. I recently bought a multiplex parkmaster 3D powered by a Himax Outrunner Brushless motor HC2816-0890. Propellers size for this motor is 9x4.7-12x6 (isn't this range to big???). I have a lot of propellers from my 46 size nitro engines 11x7 both APC and Master Airscrew. I have seen that in rc online stores there are different propellers for electric models. The propeller center hole diameter is the same with the motor shaft diameter.

So, my questions are: 1.Can I use the propellers I have (propellers from my 46 size nitro engines 11x7 both APC and Master Airscrew) on my electric model(multiplex parkmaster)?
2. What propeller size is the best for 3D flying? Is 11x7 ok?

Thank you in advance
Old 03-07-2013, 04:58 AM
whitecrest

Default RE: Propeller advise for multiplex parkmaster

An 11x5.5 E prop is recommended for this plane. [link=http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=955205]Here[/link] is an excellent review. Gas props sometimes perform well on electrics. Your APC 11x7 might work. However, electric props are generally lighter and more efficient. A few flight tests will tell you which prop works best for you.
Old 03-07-2013, 05:03 AM
cubaneight

No, don't use props designed for IC on most electric setups. IC props are designed to be far more robust and heavy to withstand the shocks of running on an IC engine, also the extra weight and inertia helps to keep the IC engine running smoothly.