Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Pylon Racing
Reload this Page >

E-Flite Shoestring Problems

Notices
Electric Pylon Racing Discuss all aspects of electric pylon racing here.

E-Flite Shoestring Problems

Old 04-12-2013, 02:49 PM
AirTech
My Feedback: (18)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default E-Flite Shoestring Problems

I'm new to EF-1 and decided to start with an ARF to get in the air quickly and test the EF-1 waters as soon as possible. I do prefer to build from a kit and I'm working on abstaining a Nemesis from Andy Adamisin as soon as the kit is available.

In the meantime I purchased an E-Flite Shoestring directly from Horizon Hobbies. Before purchasing a did some research on the different ARF's approved for EF-1. The reviews on the Shoestring pointed to several issues with the model from some of the least experienced builders which I dismissed in consideration that other builders gave it very good reviews. After all I considered I should have heeded the advice of some of these modelers since I have found their claims to be substantiated.

The main issue that most all builders encountered is with the fit and ease of removal and replacement for the canopy. Seems that cowl is fitted so tight to the top rear portion of the second former that there is not enough clearance for the canopy to slide underneath when one installs it and will hit the leading edge of the canopy will hit the lip of the cowl when attempting to remove it that it becomes impossible for the rear canopy hook latches to release.