Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
Reload this Page >

How many of you really call your airplane “She”?

Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2013, 04:35 PM
RoyR

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How many of you really call your airplane “She”?

Or “Her”, if the grammar dictates?

I have been flying RC for almost 40 years. I flew full scale helicopters for a living for a full 40 years, logging 18,000 hours in the process. I have never referred to my aircraft (big or small) as she or her, although some have and do. Even so, I think in my career as a pilot I only heard two people use the term.
Needless to say I have used some choice words for the big ones when they were being a problem, the least offensive being a “bucket of bolts”, but had a friend tell me, “careful what you say around your helicopter, it can hear you.” Then I realized I needed to choose my words wisely before speaking as ultimately it did have the last word when we were in the air.
True, flying the same machine day after day becomes a personal, even loving experience. However it never crossed my mind to think of it in the feminine, or to put gender on it at all.
The same with models. No telling what may come out of my mouth when I talk to them, and I generally refer to them by some name or another during our late night chats, just not she or her. Or girl, filly, babe, sugar pie, sweetums .
So what do you think? Am I just being stubborn? Or am I pressing my luck by not giving in to their whims? Or what if your model is Bi-sexual or Gay? Do they still want to be called “She”?

This note is written for entertainment only, and not intended as a topic of disagreement. So please, no Flames, complaints, insults, or criticisms, unless it is preceded by ,”Surely you are probably a good guy and all, BUT—“