Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Is it possible glow to petrol

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Is it possible glow to petrol

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2013, 01:43 PM
up_in_smoke

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it possible glow to petrol

Is it possible it to convert a asp 108 glow 2 stroke engine to petrol i know whats needed to do it but is it safe to do it with a abc engine
Old 04-26-2013, 01:59 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible glow to petrol

Sure it can be done. Many of the new Evolution, Saito, and OS gas engines are conversions from their glow engines. I'm not an engine expert, so if I miss a point please don't crucify me guys. I think that the changes are a gas carburetor, spark plug instead of a glow plug, a sensor on the output shaft for the ignition, and an ignition system. It's definitely not impossible as the big engine makers are doing it now. 

I'm hoping somebody with more engine experience than I have will come in and get you more info on this. 

Ken
Old 04-26-2013, 02:01 PM
FLAPHappy
My Feedback: (209)

It's actualyl cheaper if you buy a gas engine to start with. The conversion is expensive, carb, ignition, sensors, etc.
Old 04-26-2013, 02:06 PM
up_in_smoke

i all ready have the parts for converting it apart from the carb also does the carb have to be changed or can it be done with the stock carb
Old 04-26-2013, 03:17 PM
rgm762
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if your asking if you an use a glow carb on a gas engine, the answer is no, their two totally different setups. this will also be the most difficult part, finding a carb with the correct ports maybe very difficult
Old 04-27-2013, 04:50 AM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts