Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Is a heavily modified 2wd Slash competitive?

Old 05-16-2013, 09:32 AM
RC_BRYAN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is a heavily modified 2wd Slash competitive?

Hey guys,

I am kind of new to the hobby and started off simple with a Slash 2wd Brushless system. Since getting into the Hobby our local Hobby Store races twice a week and I started slowing converting my slash into a race set up. I guess my question is can I be competitive with the Slash or do I need to sell out and just go buy a Losi or SC10? Here is everything I've done to the slash, literally the only thing left on the slash is the transmission and I am currently still using the VXL-3 motor. I race in the 2WD MOD class on a very tight track with lots of turns and 1 straight away about 80-90ft long. Here is the set up:

(2wd slash brushless)
-added low center gravity chassis
- Upgraded to pro-line protrac suspension kit
- Upgraded to Pro-line dual rate shocks
- added a Savoc .08 Servo (thing is lightening fast)
- added the Brushless Hobbies 120A programmable ESC
- Have a set of Proline Calibers (M3) and Duratrax Line-ups(small pin tire)

I have camber set at 2.0 degrees all the way around, 87T spur with 18T pinion (Stock Slash Tranny), Toe is out on front and in on the rear. I just got the shocks and I believe they come with 50wt all the way around, maybe go softer in the front? I know a lot of my speed and technique will come with putting down laps at the track, I just dont want to keep sinking money into a 2WD Slash if it will never be able to keep up with Losi or Associated... Any imput to my set up or competitiveness in the slash would be greatly appreciated!!

Bryan

Old 05-16-2013, 09:45 AM
FahrtAutoRC

Default RE: Is a heavily modified 2wd Slash competitive?