Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Nitro Stadium Trucks
Reload this Page >

Firestorm 10T - bigger tires and gearing

Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

Firestorm 10T - bigger tires and gearing

Old 05-27-2013, 11:24 AM
soccerdude28

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Firestorm 10T - bigger tires and gearing

Hey guys,

First time posting and I am fairly new to the whole Nitro scene.

I have had my hpi firestorm for a couple years but starting enjoying it most this year.

I have added a bumper and replaced a few pieces, however, I would like to further mod this little truck.

Since day 1 I have wanted to add some bigger tires on this truck.

Specifically I was looking at putting some Proline 2.8" tires.

What modifications would I have to do to the gearing to not put as much stress on the little 2 stroke engine?

I was thinking about putting the integy 3 shoe clutch when they get it back in stock and a 21t vented clutch bell.

Anything else??

Thanks!
Old 05-27-2013, 11:31 AM
Rusty22

Default RE: Firestorm 10T - bigger tires and gearing

What motor are you running? You might be fine just slapping the tires on there. 
And your changing clutch bell from what to the 21T? 
Old 05-27-2013, 03:08 PM
Sixtysixdeuce

As rusty said, you may not need to do a thing with the gearing, unless your motor is already taxed turning stock size tires. I put 2.8" TRX talons on my RC10GT running a 14T pinion and 54T spur. Of course, I'm using an OFNA Force .32 engine, so my biggest problem is not lack of power but parts breakage.

It's AMAZING how much better these 1/10 stadium trucks do on rough terrain with the larger 5+" tires. And as little as I care for TRX vehicles, the Talons are an awesome tire, especially if you plan to use both on and off pavement.

I've put 2.8" Talons on the front as well since this pic, but this should give you a general idea