Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

2.4 Conversion

Old 05-31-2013, 11:30 PM
bleinmiller
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.4 Conversion

After reading through some threads on 2.4 conversions, I have a few questions. I'm new to 2.4 so please bear with me.

I have two old Futaba Gold Box radios that I've used for years and would like to continue to use. One is the FP-T6FG/K with AM module and the other is the FP-T7FG/K with FM module.
Next are my 1024's. FP-T5UAP with FM module. Always been curious why PCM and FM radios use the same module, but I don't know much about electronics. I also have a 5UAP PCM with no external module. My question is, which of these can be converted and which ones can't? Thank you very much for any light you can shed on this subject for me.
Old 06-01-2013, 05:44 AM
TFF

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 2.4 Conversion

You have to be able to turn the PCM off on the radios. What happens is if it is still on, the transmitter will send the PCM signal through the new 2.4 module just fine, but on the other end the new receiver has no clue how to decipher the PCM code. The PCM receivers could read the PCM code. If the module fits the Gold Futabas, it will work fine. The module is the radio part; everything else is about signal generation. The PCM code, just an encoded FM, is sent to the module; the module is the dumb part, just sending out radio waves. How you fed the module is what made it PCM or regular FM.
Old 06-01-2013, 06:24 AM
karolh

Received 33 Likes on 32 Posts

Your modular 72 FM radios and be switched to 2.4 by using a 2.4 module of similar brand as the radio or one of the available aftermarket compatible 2.4 units like the FrSky.
Old 06-01-2013, 06:34 AM
sawdust
My Feedback: (7)