YS Engines Support Direct support from YS Performance Engines by Dave Shadel

YS 140L surging

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2013, 09:51 AM
OldRookie
My Feedback: (13)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default YS 140L surging

I have a YS 140 L that only has had about 3/4 gallon of fuel through it. I am running Wildcat 20/20 YS fuel, with a Xoar 17 X 8 prop, and an OS F glow plug. This was a NIB engine before running.
I have 5 YS engines, and am very confident in my tuning of these engines. I am now getting 8300 RPM WOT, and when dropped to idle (2000 RPM) it stays within 200 RPM.
I have read where the 140 L engines had some problems with surging, and there was a process of drilling holes in the piston ring groove to eliminate this problem.
Does this seem as if this is what this engine needs? If so, is this something I can do, or is there more to it than just hole drilling? I have been a machinist for over 35 years, and am more than capable of doing this if I know the drill size, how many holes, and hole location. Like 3 holes at 120Ëš, or 4 holes at 90Ëš.
I really can't think of anything else that could cause the surging. The surging is anywhere from 1/2 to full throttle, and usually starts after any maneuver after take off. It doesn't surge on the bench or at take off..

Thanks in advance,
Greg
Old 06-09-2013, 01:12 PM
petec
My Feedback: (58)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: YS 140L surging

I have had quite a few 1.40L engines and don't remember any of them having a gas ported piston. Gas porting the piston to the ring land is used to improve sealing. Surging is usually a function of lean mixture. You say it doesn't act up on the ground or at take off but will in the air. Is this in a tightly cowled installation? I have run into tuning issues where the cowling was causing airflow issues once airborne. Could you give some more specifics of the issue and perhaps post a few pictures of the installation?
Old 06-10-2013, 04:56 PM
OldRookie