Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Flyzone Tidewater, My New Favorite Plane

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Flyzone Tidewater, My New Favorite Plane

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2013, 06:33 PM
WVrailfan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flyzone Tidewater, My New Favorite Plane

I didn't see a post regarding this plane so thought I'd start one. I've only been flying for a couple of years now and this is the first plane I have flown from water. I am not an expert or instructor, but I can heartily recommend it to anyone as a first seaplane. I have had mine for about a month and have put nearly 50 flight on it. It is holding up well. I did change to a Graupner 9X5 prop because I couldn't get the original spinner/prop to balance and run smooth, beyond that the plane was great right out of the box.Speaking of out of the box, this plane goes together in about half an hour. The main components are the fuselage with tail, wing, horizontal stab and floats. Four screws to put the plane together, add your RX and bolt on the prop then go flying.The plane flies like a trainer, easy to take off and the landings make it look like I've been flying from water forever. However, for those who like to hot dog a bit, the plane can do rolls, loops and other maneuvers with ease.I have now customized the paint a bit and added nav and landing lights for evening flying. I fly mostly from a public boat ramp on a local river and this plane draws a crowd when I fly. I have several other planes I enjoy flying, but this one has become my favorite and makes me want to try some other seaplanes!Here is a video shot with an 808 #16 key fob cam taped to the plane. https://vimeo.com/67761120
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om31803.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	142.1 KB
ID:	1891050   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up49367.jpg
Views:	70