Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Runway take off trouble

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Runway take off trouble

Old 07-09-2013, 02:05 PM
a70eliminator

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Runway take off trouble

Although I'm not a total beginner I am new to club flying.
I'm finding it way harder to do everything from starting up taxi takoff and landing ect just because of all the distractions of
people planes and club rules ect.
I'm so used to flying alone secluded and no distractions big field ect. One of the most trying tasks for me is taking off without standing directly behind my plane, ar the field I have to stand in a certain area about 90 degrees from my plane and i'm looking at is from the side rather from behind, also the flight path is also standing looking at my plane sidewars rather than directly in front of behind it like I'm used to.
I've crashed 2 times now with my 1/4 scale bipe, it always happens when there are people around and other planes, by myself is much more relaxing and I'm able to pull off great flights, but in a crowd forget it!
Anyone else have this experience, is it normal in the beginning or is it just maybe a personel problem?
Old 07-09-2013, 02:15 PM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Runway take off trouble

Normal for most ! Some never get accustomed to it .
It's worse if your club has a "peanut gallery" there all of the time. Not so bad if there are folks there who will help you and allow you to bend the "rules" a little. One of those rules to bend would be allowing you to stand behind your plane to take off and then move behind the flight station to fly and land and do this for a few flights until you become comfortable and then you can take off from the flight station. That is allowed where I fly as long as you are the first up and it is safe to do so.