Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Support your local hobby shop? ITN

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2013, 11:31 AM
willig10

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Support your local hobby shop? ITN

Ok all, I am new to cars and trucks. I have been flying for years but just could not resist the mini e-revo vxl. So before I bought one I visited my local hobby shop to see one in person and look at upgrades etc. I know the owner and he knows me. I also know the counter person and pretty much all who work there. After looking around the shelves etc. I see that all the cars and trucks are on the wall behind the counter. There are many and I did not want to waste the guys time by asking prices. The price tags are about 1" square and you cannot see the price from in front of the counter.

On the airplane side of the hobby shop we are allowed to go behind the counter and get things and shop as needed. So I asked the guy that I know if I could step around to check prices etc. You would have thought I was going to rob the place. He got militant real quick and said no. So I informed him that I would not be back as there are other hobby shops in and around town and for sure on-line.

This is not the first time I have had issues with this guy and other modelers have had issues with him as well. I aint never going back.

All this said, you see I used to be the guy that would tell you to support your local hobby shop. Yes the prices are a bit higher but he is in it to make a buck too. Well my attitude has changed. After this experience, and again this is not the first time. I am done. I don't care if I have to drive an hour or more to go to another shop or just spend my time buying online, it is better than being treated in a disrespectful manner the way these guys do.

Anyone else have this sort of issue?

Old 07-15-2013, 12:08 PM